in the cafe

It’s the kind of place where you order at the counter and seat yourself. The old man in front of me is wide and round and leans heavily on his cane. He has a kind, soft face, the sort that smiles even when no one is looking. His body is failing but still, the face holds traces of his younger self. They put a flat bowl of soup on the counter in front of him, a thing that can’t be managed with his weight on the cane. I offer to carry it to his table. He tells me that would be very nice, and points to one. Before he sits down, he lays aside the cane and clasps my hand between his. “Can I tell you something?” he asks. “Don’t get any older than you are right now.”

4 Responses to “in the cafe”


  1. 1 Tentative Equinox North December 16, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    I have been so enjoying your slices of life. This one is particularly lovely.

  2. 3 dbrown January 20, 2009 at 12:14 am

    a couple years ago, at my dr.’s office on “procedure day” (me: endoscopy; others: colonoscopy) and older queen comes in, sits down, declares to the room, “Let me tell you, the golden years are awful!”

  3. 4 Kio January 20, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    dbrown is my deputy


Leave a comment